Our Mission

The Washington Senate Members of Color Caucus (MOCC) envisions a state that recognizes that our strength is rooted in our diversity, a state that is committed to creating equal opportunities for all, including political representation for people of color, and a state that dedicates itself to advancing racial equity throughout the legislative process.

The mission of the Washington Senate Members of Color Caucus is to advocate for policies that advance the priorities of communities of color across Washington, remove institutional barriers that people of color face, create coalitions across racial lines, and increase civic participation and representation in all levels of government.

Members of Color of the Washington State Senate come from, and identify with, communities that are underrepresented in the legislative process.  We understand that our voices as their Senators in those struggles are amplified when we join together for the common benefit of all our communities, and our state. 

Our objective is to:

  • Fight for equity in economic, employment, and other opportunities for communities of color.
  • Create policy rooted in racial equity and justice.
  • Fight against racism, bigotry, and hate.
  • Protect the civil rights of everyone regardless of immigration status.
  • Create a support system for members, staff, interns of color and allies that work at the legislature.
  • Mentor all elected officials of color at every level of government.

Follow our work with real-time updates on Facebook at Washington State Senate Members of Color Caucus (formerly titled Demócratas del Senado de Washington).


Caucus Members

Sen. Mona Das

47th District – Kent

Sen. Das is a small business owner who has seen the effects of unaffordable housing firsthand. She will work on behalf of women’s and immigrants’ rights, investing in a sustainable economy, and ensuring access to quality education for every Washingtonian.

Sen. Manka Dhingra

45th District – Redmond

Manka was elected to the state Senate in 2017 by constituents of the 45th District. She is a Senior Deputy Prosecuting Attorney with the King County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office and an anti-domestic violence advocate and community leader.

Sen. Bob Hasegawa

11th District – Seattle

Bob is a longtime labor and social justice activist. He led many workers struggles, winning top wages and benefits for working families and retirees, and he collaborated in many social justice struggles to protect civil rights, democracy, the environment and our constitutional rights.

Sen. Steve Hobbs

44th District – Lake Stevens

Senator Steve Hobbs has been a member of the Washington State Senate since 2006. He serves as Chair of the Transportation Committee. In addition to representing the people of the 44th district, he is a member of the Washington Army National Guard and proudly served in Kosovo and Iraq.

Sen. John McCoy

38th District – Tulalip

John represents the Everett, Marysville, and Tulalip communities and neighborhoods of Snohomish County. After a decade in the House of Representatives, John was appointed to the Senate in November 2013.

Sen. Joe Nguyen

34th District – White Center

Sen. Joe Nguyen was born in White Center, raised in Burien. His experiences growing up in an immigrant community as the son of Vietnamese refugees and being raised by a single mother informs much of his service today.

Sen. Emily Randall

26th District – Bremerton

Emily Randall is the daughter of two union workers and was born on the Kitsap Peninsula and raised in Port Orchard. She’s worked for ten years in health care and education fundraising and advocacy and in the Legislature plans to focus on affordable college, apprenticeship and job training programs, and removing health care barriers for Washingtonians. She was elected in 2018.

Sen. Rebecca Saldaña

37th District – Seattle

Rebecca was appointed to her seat in 2016. She serves the communities of Beacon Hill, Central District, Rainer Valley, Columbia City, Rainier Beach, and Renton.